Nominations sought for the Demeter Award of Excellence

Dr. Temple Grandin, renowned animal behavioralist who literally reshaped livestock handling at slaughter plants, is the headlining speaker at this year’s Women in Agribusiness conference, held Sept. 24-26 in Denver, CO. 

Women in Agribusiness is seeking nominations of innovative, action-oriented women in the agricultural community for their Demeter Award of Excellence. The award will be presented during the Women in Agribusiness conference in Denver, CO, Sept. 24-26.

The scope of the award has been broadened from past years. Nominations, including self-nominations, are now being accepted for women across the agribusiness value chain who have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the sector.

“We’ve modified the award criteria to be more inclusive and representative of the members of our Women in Agribusiness community, and the entire value chain in general,” said Joy O’Shaughnessy, managing director of Women in Agribusiness at HighQuest Group.

“We’re looking for the best and the brightest, those with ideas that have changed businesses, motivated colleagues, or removed barriers to success. We are looking for women who have achieved excellence in their field or demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the agribusiness industry.”

Criteria for nomination includes:

• A woman with a minimum of 10 years of experience in the ag and/or food industry;

• A woman who is a positive example to other women in the industry;

• A woman who breaks down barriers and serves as a resource for others;

• A woman who consistently exemplifies professionalism; and

• A woman who has not received the award in past years.

Past winners include:

• 2013—Female Executive of the Year, Carol Kitchen of Global Ingredients for Land O’Lakes; Innovator of the Year, Meshea Brodie of Bayer CropScience; Leader of the Year, Amber Northcut of Agrium Inc.’s Women’s Leadership Group; and Company/Organization, Dow AgroSciences.

• 2014—Leader of the Year, Kay Kuenker of Dow AgroSciences; Innovator of the Year, Andrea Mariela Grobocopatel of GRUPO LOS GROBO; and Company of the Year, Agrium, Inc.

• 2015—Leader of the Year, Kim Walker of Faegre Baker Daniels; Innovator of the Year, Megan DeVelvis of Dow AgroSciences; and Company of the Year, Beck Ag Inc.

• 2016—Leader of the Year, Stefanie Jill Fogel, DLA Piper; Innovator of the Year, Laura Daniels, Dairy Girl Network; Company of the Year, Syngenta.

• 2017—Leader of the Year, Kelly Stevens of Buffalo Wild Wings; Innovator of the Year, Summer Butler of The Coca-Cola Company; Company of the Year, Nationwide.

Nominations are being accepted through July 20. The nomination submission form can be found online at There are no limits to the number of nominations that can be submitted. The award is named after Demeter, the goddess of the harvest, from ancient Greek mythology.

This year’s headlining speaker at the Women in Agribusiness conference is Dr. Temple Grandin. Session themes will cover big data in ag, longevity of agricultural companies, and blockchain and developing technologies.

Western Livestock Journal is a partner with the Women in Agribusiness conference. — WLJ

Load comments